Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Relay A/V not detecting my internet connection PLZ HELP!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy Relay A/V not detecting my internet connection PLZ HELP!

    Hi there.
    I just bought, downloaded and installed relay AV 8. I have had no luck with it. Zero. It seems to not find an internet connection.
    Well, I have high speed internet connection via Verizon wireless air card.
    My computer is a Windows XP with lots of ram.

    I tried turning off my Windows firewall completely, to which it says is very dangerous to do that. But I did it. Nothing worked. I still get the error message:

    NO NETWORK ACTIVITY WAS DETECTED ON ANY AVAILABLE NETOWRK .....PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A LIVE INTERNET CONNECTION AND THAT REPLAY A/V IS NOT BEING BLOCKED BY A FIREWALL

    So , are there any other suggestions I can do? ive been trying to fix this for hours on end....Sure would like to enjoy this application that I recently purchased. thanks....
    jimmy maddox
    texas

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    358
    Rep Power
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iweberdudei View Post
    Hi there.
    I just bought, downloaded and installed relay AV 8. I have had no luck with it. Zero. It seems to not find an internet connection.
    Well, I have high speed internet connection via Verizon wireless air card.
    My computer is a Windows XP with lots of ram.

    I tried turning off my Windows firewall completely, to which it says is very dangerous to do that. But I did it. Nothing worked. I still get the error message:

    NO NETWORK ACTIVITY WAS DETECTED ON ANY AVAILABLE NETOWRK .....PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU HAVE A LIVE INTERNET CONNECTION AND THAT REPLAY A/V IS NOT BEING BLOCKED BY A FIREWALL

    So , are there any other suggestions I can do? ive been trying to fix this for hours on end....Sure would like to enjoy this application that I recently purchased. thanks....
    jimmy maddox
    texas
    Make sure Replay AV is not on your blocked list.
    >Control Panel>Network Connections>Right click on the Local Area Connection...your internet is connected to>click on Advanced TAB>Settings
    You can turn on your firewall
    >Exceptions...add program navigate to the C:\Program Files\Replay AV 8 folder and, select The Replay AV.exe if that does not work...try Lauching
    Replay AV 8 go to "file" then, "settings" then go to connections "if you on dialup, then follow the suggestions on that tab.

    Kind Regards.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I believe that this was covered in a different thread. It will not work hooked straight to a laptop. If you had something like a EV-DO router, then you are in business.

    Take a look at:

    DIR-450 > 3G Mobile Router for EV-DO Networks

    http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=1&pid=524

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,398
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    You are correct, it will not recognize a wireless card unless the card is in a router. I use my Sprint card as my primary Internet due to living in the sticks and it works great with a router I purchased from Sprint. You would be able to record shows that are in the Media Guide but not shows you need to find a URL for. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by melanchete View Post
    I believe that this was covered in a different thread. It will not work hooked straight to a laptop. If you had something like a EV-DO router, then you are in business.

    Take a look at:

    DIR-450 > 3G Mobile Router for EV-DO Networks

    http://www.dlink.com/products/?sec=1&pid=524
    THis is a DESK TOP.....with a USB air card....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cheryl Wester View Post
    You are correct, it will not recognize a wireless card unless the card is in a router. I use my Sprint card as my primary Internet due to living in the sticks and it works great with a router I purchased from Sprint. You would be able to record shows that are in the Media Guide but not shows you need to find a URL for. Thanks.
    OK , so my wireless card is plugged into my DESK TOP computer via USB. So what you are saying is I need a router? Like a USB router? Because I might have an old one laying around here...its for multiple computer hookups. would that work or is it a router that I would have to purchase somewhere?

    Thanks for yr reply
    JIMMY

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iweberdudei View Post
    OK , so my wireless card is plugged into my DESK TOP computer via USB. So what you are saying is I need a router? Like a USB router? Because I might have an old one laying around here...its for multiple computer hookups. would that work or is it a router that I would have to purchase somewhere?

    Thanks for yr reply
    JIMMY
    Please check with your 3G provider for a recommendation for a router that will allow 3G the the USB port.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    10
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    yes, thats exactly what I have...a 3G USB air card. So If I get a router to plug my G3 aircard into , then it shuld work eh? Then I can record off sites such as Youtube. Well thanks everyone for the feedbacks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    47
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by iweberdudei View Post
    yes, thats exactly what I have...a 3G USB air card. So If I get a router to plug my G3 aircard into , then it shuld work eh? Then I can record off sites such as Youtube. Well thanks everyone for the feedbacks.
    You bet. Contact your 3G provider, and follow their recommendation. I set these up for Government projects.

Similar Threads

  1. Will not recongnize internet connection
    By cendella in forum Replay Music
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-27-2009, 05:54 PM
  2. RMC Pooches Internet Connection
    By swatter in forum Replay Media Catcher
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-12-2009, 11:53 AM
  3. Internet connection not recognized
    By cpagirl41 in forum Replay Music
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2008, 09:43 AM
  4. My AV8 won't recoginze my internet connection
    By TerryP in forum Recording Streaming Video
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 08:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About these forums...
Applian Technologies makes these discussion forums available for our customers to assist other users. We do read this content and appreciate all your suggestions and comments. If you need technical support or customer service, please visit the links to the right.
Let's Be Friends