Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: RVC5 Freezes computer

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Cheryl, thanks very much for your (always) quick replies. I had tech support responsibilities for years and I know how relentless it can be. Not to mention that it's probably one of about six jobs you do? >8-0

    Last night I reset the C: drive as the output target. Instead of the previous ~20 minutes of unfrozen video per session, I now get 23 OR MORE minutes. Problem is, I'm recording 100-minute streams. So I'm baby sitting: I stop each session at 27 minutes, harvest the unfrozen video, then start a new 27-minute session. I'll edit & assemble each webinar from its 5+ separate recorded chunks. OUCH!

    Is there any way to monitor the RVC output file, either in real-time or delayed, so I can tell if/when the video recording has frozen? I've stopped two of these sessions at 27 minutes and they were still running fine. I hate to stop a session that might go the distance! OTOH, I can't risk wasting a 100-minute session when only 23 minutes might be usable. Any way of monitoring would be of tremendous help!

    OF INTEREST: The earlier the video freezes in a session, the smaller the size of the resulting file. Maybe I can monitor the file-size counter on the RVC console display, on the assumption that the data rate will slow once the video freezes? That's a PITA but might save me from stopping a still-good session.

    Can't wait to hear more about the new version!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Cheryl, thanks for your quick and helpful replies. I had tech support responsibility for years, and I know how taxing it can be. You handle it very nicely!

    I moved my RVC output folder off of USB2 external drive and back onto C: drive, where Win Vista and RVC SW reside. That fixed some glitching, but not the 20-minute freezing issue.

    After comparing date/time of my RVC recorded files against my System Restore Point events, I discovered something shocking: The serious freeze problems began immediately after I installed MS Service Packs 1 & 2, plus a load of associated MS updates. (Eyes rolling ). I only installed the MS stuff because it was required for my Trend Micro Anti-Virus 2012 renewal. Who'da thought that MS system updates could mess up other companies' SW? (Eyes now rolling wildly ).

    So after uninstalling the MS junk and reverting to another version of Trend Micro which works fine without the service packs ...
    RVC 4.1 works flawlessly like it had for the prior 2+ years. I'll install and try RVC 5.x in the next few days, when my current projects are finished,and report back on how it works now.

    FWIW, removing the MS stuff resolved conflicts that were happening between RVC 4.x and Womble MPEG Video Wizard 5.0. Womble began adding a cross-hatch type of screening while playing some (but not all) newly-recorded RVC files. It was like watching the video monitor through a thin gauze curtain. This phenomenon did not occur with older RVC files. Removing the MS updates fixed that problem as well. RVC and Womble play together prefectly like back in the good ol' days.

    So when do we get an Applian suite for the Mac? Because that's where I'm headed soon. Adios, MS.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,380
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Thank you for all of the feedback. It is appreciated and the developers do look at this. We do have some programs for a Mac. Go to Jaksta.com and see. Also, our programs do work on a Mac with Parallels or Bootcamp on it. You treat them then just like any PC program.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Hi everyone, I've been away for sometime and have just been able to log on again. Thanks for all the responses etc. I too have tried everything and still having problems with freezing sometimes when I'm in the middle of recording a webinar. It's so frustrating.
    Looking forward to the update, hope it solves the problem.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Interwebs
    Posts
    1,954
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Thanks for hanging in there Ian
    Best Regards,

    Jeff Lenney
    Technical Support
    Applian Technologies, Inc.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Hi all
    Noted Kevinabb's comment (03/30/2012) regarding MS updates. I have a faint suspicion that my troubles with freezing started after a MS update installation. Haven't really been able to tie it down though. Will wait for RVC update.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,380
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Personally, I found that the main issues do seem to come after Tuesday updates to system.s sometimes a rollback on a computer helps.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Thanks Cheryl

    Yes I have thought about that except the problem has been around for some time for me and there has been heeps of Windows updates during that time. Short of doing a complete reinstall which I don't want to do, I'm hoping the new version of RVC will do the trick.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    The Interwebs
    Posts
    1,954
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Quote Originally Posted by IanJE View Post
    Thanks Cheryl

    Yes I have thought about that except the problem has been around for some time for me and there has been heeps of Windows updates during that time. Short of doing a complete reinstall which I don't want to do, I'm hoping the new version of RVC will do the trick.
    Let us know how it goes please! :-)
    Best Regards,

    Jeff Lenney
    Technical Support
    Applian Technologies, Inc.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    7
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: RVC5 Freezes computer

    Hi all

    Have been using the new version (V6) for a while now and all seems well. Does not freeze the computer will using the program. Luv it.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-20-2010, 09:42 PM
  2. RMC freezes when about to finish downloads...
    By Dvdveeken in forum Replay Media Catcher
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 09:15 AM
  3. Video freezes after 25 min
    By chadg in forum Replay Video Capture
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-27-2009, 06:29 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-26-2009, 06:50 PM
  5. Freezes on Initialize Recording
    By DaffyD in forum Replay Video Capture
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-03-2009, 08:02 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About these forums...
Applian Technologies makes these discussion forums available for our customers to assist other users. We do read this content and appreciate all your suggestions and comments. If you need technical support or customer service, please visit the links to the right.
Let's Be Friends