Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Success recording audio in Vista (at last)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Smile Success recording audio in Vista (at last)

    I have used Replay Radio and Replay Music with great success over the years to record audio on my XP PC, but was somewhat despondent on first switching to Vista (a new PC) as Applian mentioned the difficulty of recording using the sound card (my preferred method) on most Vista machines. Indeed, I found Replay AV didn't work at all (until today!!).

    I am writing this to help anyone else who may be having problems as there is some new information on the Vista FAQ page on the Applian site. It may not work for you but it did for me. The link is http://www.applian.com/support-vista.php

    I don't have a separate sound card, my PC has sound integrated with the motherboard (not ideal but I ran out of space) and I thought that might be part of the problem. However, the trick was to 'enable' a recording line in Vista, as described in the article in the Vista FAQ, which Vista had for some reason disabled for me without me knowing. Once I did this (a 5 second operation) - presto - Replay AV worked by recording sound through my speakers (as it had on the XP machine).

    So - not a problem but a solution - and one I wanted to pass on to others.

    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Unhappy

    Ah - just as an addendum - I've found out why Vista had disabled my line in. I also use Vista's voice recognition and Skype so I need my microphone to work, and my microphone had stopped working with the line in stereo mix enabled.

    It looks like you have to go into Control Panel to enable or disable the 'Stereo Mix' depending on whether I'm using Skype or Replay AV,

    Anyone know of an answer to this?

    Mike

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,398
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    If you use the latest version of Replay AV, 8.41 it does have our great Replay AV Audio Driver. It allows you to capture audio on a Vista machine. Give it a try.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I have the latest version of Replay AV - but the Replay Audio driver doesn't show up as an option.

    But my problem is with Replay Music (latest version) which does have the Audio Driver but for some reason doesn't work.

    Mike

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi,

    We'll need more information from you in order to help. Please submit a Replay Music support request to tech support along with your log file. Be sure to tell them where you are recording from.

    For Replay AV it sounds like you are just setting up the show incorrectly. In Replay AV just open the properties for a show that you are recording. If you want to record using the audio driver rather than stream capturing, select "Capture by recording audio output" in the recording tab. Then select "Replay AV audio driver" as the "Audio Recording Method".
    Debbie McCormick
    Director & Creative Technologist
    Applian Technologies, Inc.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3
    Rep Power
    0

    Cool

    I used in Vista Audio record and It works perfectly. Doesnt happend the same with Replay Music. Pity. Can be that possible?
    see you
    O.

  7. #7
    Mike Christensen's Avatar
    Mike Christensen is offline Lead Software Developer, Applian Technologies
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    112
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oscarfpa View Post
    I used in Vista Audio record and It works perfectly. Doesnt happend the same with Replay Music. Pity. Can be that possible?
    see you
    O.
    Make sure to open Replay Music before opening the source you wish to record from. Also, when recording from an online source, always select "Audio Driver" as the input source in Replay Music's settings before starting a recording.

    Regards,
    Mike Christensen

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Having difficulty getting audio from Rhapsody in Vista also

    Dear Sirs/Mesdames:

    I've tried to follow all of the FAQ instructions for my QX6800 system on a GA-P35T-DQ6 motherboard with a RealTek ALC889A audio controller, as follows:

    1. launch Replay Music before opening Web browser
    2. Check to make sure settings includes "Audio Driver" as Input Source
    3. In Control Panel Sound applet, enabled Stereo Mix Device, set as Default, and showing audio activity on the stacked bar VU to right when playing music
    4. In Control Panel Realtek HD Audio Manager, Stereo Mix is set to CD Quallity Audio, and shows as a default device, along with Speakers (presumably the latter are for output)
    [Note: I rebooted after changing all driver settings to make sure they were in effect when using Replay Music]
    6. (have tried this approach): Click Start Recording in Replay Music
    5. Open Rhapsody player, begin play
    7. (have also tried this approach): Click Start Recording in Replay Music

    Either using 6 or 7, I get no activity on the Replay Music VU meter, indicating it's seeing no input. What should I try next? Please help!

    --Ed--
    Last edited by etittel; 04-17-2008 at 06:46 AM. Reason: add more information

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    2
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    I forgot to mention I'm running Vista Ultimate with SP1 and all current updates applied (Build 6001)

  10. #10
    Mike Christensen's Avatar
    Mike Christensen is offline Lead Software Developer, Applian Technologies
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    112
    Rep Power
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by etittel View Post
    I forgot to mention I'm running Vista Ultimate with SP1 and all current updates applied (Build 6001)
    What version of Replay Music are you using?

    Thanks,
    Mike Christensen
    Applian Technologies Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 11:47 PM
  2. Vista Audio Recording Setting
    By sry in forum Replay Video Capture
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-27-2009, 02:14 PM
  3. Recording Audio in Vista?
    By Nimh20 in forum Replay Video Capture
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2009, 06:25 AM
  4. Vista 64 SP1 Home Prem NO Audio or choices
    By Disco54 in forum Replay Video Capture
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-28-2009, 10:48 PM
  5. Recording in Vista
    By BM Andy in forum Recording Streaming Audio
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-28-2008, 01:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About these forums...
Applian Technologies makes these discussion forums available for our customers to assist other users. We do read this content and appreciate all your suggestions and comments. If you need technical support or customer service, please visit the links to the right.
Let's Be Friends