Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: how will this work on my hybernating laptop?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    Default how will this work on my hybernating laptop?

    Ok I finally bought the program and its running now. This is what's going on. I have the program running but it is on my laptop and I want to know if I can close the laptop screen and have the replay AV work while it is closed. Is this possible or do I need to keep the laptop open? Also will the program work in the back ground when the screensaver starts? And lastly can I set up multiple recordings to start at differant times? I'm thinking that once a recording is set up and goes to the recorder que that the next time I open the record wizard it allows me to start a new recording that will not affect the other recordings.

    I have no patience to search the forums for these topics because there is usually too much other stuff to read through so I just ask direct questions and hope for answers. Sorry if i've annoyed anyone. Thanks for the help
    Last edited by Tenhouse; 08-23-2008 at 01:16 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    5
    Rep Power
    0

    Default

    Now i've tried to close the cover on the laptop and it does stop the recording which is a bummer. I then tried to set up a screensaver on my laptop so that I won't have to worry about burning my screen and the screensaver does not activate when it is supposed to. It does work but not when the Replay AV is recording.

    This is a bad feature for me as I don't really want anyone having access to my computer when I am at work. If i leave the laptop open and turned on then everyone can do as they wish and go through my files and mess my computer and this is not cool. Is there as way for the program to work in the background and allow me to maintain security of my computer and allow my screensavers to function properly???? Please help....

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    90
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tenhouse View Post
    Ok I finally bought the program and its running now. This is what's going on. I have the program running but it is on my laptop and I want to know if I can close the laptop screen and have the replay AV work while it is closed. Is this possible or do I need to keep the laptop open?
    The title of your message implies that you put your laptop in hibernation mode when the lid is closed. This is just a special kind of power down that allows a quicker restart when you open the lid. So, no programs, including Replay A/V, are running when the lid is closed.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tenhouse View Post
    This is a bad feature for me as I don't really want anyone having access to my computer when I am at work. If i leave the laptop open and turned on then everyone can do as they wish and go through my files and mess my computer and this is not cool.
    A manual solution for this situation is to press Ctl+Alt+Del and click the button to lock the keyboard when you leave your desk. Yes, it's a habit you will have to develop. Yes, it's less than ideal. Yes, it achieves the desired objective if you can develop the habit. Once it is a deeply ingrained habit you will do it without even thinking about it. I know because this is what I do. (Hey, at least I proposed a solution that I am personally living with. )
    Last edited by craig78681; 08-23-2008 at 07:10 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Round Rock, TX
    Posts
    90
    Rep Power
    14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tenhouse View Post
    And lastly can I set up multiple recordings to start at differant times? I'm thinking that once a recording is set up and goes to the recorder que that the next time I open the record wizard it allows me to start a new recording that will not affect the other recordings.
    Correct. Each recording stands on its own. In fact, you could have more than one recording running simultaneously as long as you are using stream capture. Obviously this does not work if you are recording the audio output that is being played on the speakers. Then both audio streams would be captured in a single file. You would have to listen pretty darn close for that to be acceptable.

Similar Threads

  1. Help: Can't find the install package for my new laptop anywhere
    By stevegillies in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-16-2009, 03:21 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-27-2008, 11:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About these forums...
Applian Technologies makes these discussion forums available for our customers to assist other users. We do read this content and appreciate all your suggestions and comments. If you need technical support or customer service, please visit the links to the right.
Let's Be Friends