Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Does a split file get re-rendered/re-encoded or not?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Question Does a split file get re-rendered/re-encoded or not?

    I have several MP4 files that I want to split one at a time. Here are two cases:

    (1) I will not remove anything from the file; just split a very long file into separate pieces.

    (2) I will cut out parts of a very long file.

    In both cases, I cannot guarantee that the splitting will be exactly on an I-frame, but I can try. In any of the above circumstances, will the Splitter re-render or re-encode anything? If yes, under what situations?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,305
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Does a split file get re-rendered/re-encoded or not?

    MP4 files are trimmed with I-frame accuracy, so there is no re-encoding. This is straight from the developer.

Similar Threads

  1. Timed split
    By Bclayton51 in forum Replay Music
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-06-2012, 09:12 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-24-2011, 07:11 PM
  3. playback speed of split file
    By mkw85 in forum Replay Media Splitter
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-11-2010, 03:00 PM
  4. Issue with split file numbering
    By Victor Kroese in forum Replay A/V
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-15-2009, 05:06 AM
  5. Why MP3 Split
    By dr3d in forum Replay A/V
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-10-2008, 06:24 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About these forums...
Applian Technologies makes these discussion forums available for our customers to assist other users. We do read this content and appreciate all your suggestions and comments. If you need technical support or customer service, please visit the links to the right.
Let's Be Friends