Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: WinPcap and Replay Media Suite

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Question WinPcap and Replay Media Suite

    I recently purchased the Replay Media Catcher Suite and during the installation process, WinPcap 4.1.3 was installed and the checkbox to automatically start the WinPcap driver at boot time was checked. I unchecked the checkbox and installed all of the remaining software in the suite.

    What is WinPcap, is it required to run the Replay Media Catcher Suite, and if so, how do I start it? If it is not required, can I uninstall it?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    4,373
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: WinPcap and Replay Media Suite

    WinPCap is a file that helps you find network adapters. Most systems do need it to work the various programs. I personally would suggest you keep it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: WinPcap and Replay Media Suite

    As in DaveN's unanswered question, ". . . how do I start" WinPcap? (I did exactly what he did during installation.)

    I researched it and found that it is useful. I see in Media Catcher 5 Settings > Internet > Monitor, under Ports to Monitor there is a "Use WinPcap" radio button (permanently set by default).

    Does that mean WinPcap will run when Media Catcher is started, or do I need make an entry for it in the Registry or put it in my Startup folder?

    Do any other Replay Media Suite applications benefit from WinPcap?

    Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    51
    Rep Power
    7

    Default Re: WinPcap and Replay Media Suite

    In case if you are wondering, "WinPcap" is basically a safe plugin. It is used primarily on Wireshark. It allows your NIC to operate in promiscuous mode.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: WinPcap and Replay Media Suite

    WinPcap is what monitors for network traffic. RMC5 grabs that traffic and searches for streaming media. When installing WinPcap, you need to make sure that the "automatically start the WinPcap driver at boot time" checkbox is checked. From the WinPcap documentation I have read, there is no easy way to startup WinPcap otherwise (and RMC won't work without something watching the network traffic).

Similar Threads

  1. YouTube, Network Monitor or WinPcap?
    By Anewjam in forum Replay Media Catcher
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-24-2013, 06:21 PM
  2. Replay Capture Suite - Update all at once?
    By teml3574 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-06-2013, 09:30 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 07:50 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-19-2010, 05:48 PM
  5. Need to reinstall Replay Suite question
    By speedy1 in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2010, 06:46 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About these forums...
Applian Technologies makes these discussion forums available for our customers to assist other users. We do read this content and appreciate all your suggestions and comments. If you need technical support or customer service, please visit the links to the right.
Let's Be Friends