PDA

View Full Version : Replay A/V product discontinued?

Maine63
03-13-2012, 04:07 PM
I was very disappointed to read Applian has discontinued Replay A/V. I've been using A/V for several years now and love it's functionality. Replay Music just doesn't cut it; does not support scheduled recordings, etc. I plan to keep using A/V 8.83B for many moons to come; guess there will be no further releases or upgrades to an excellent product. I just don't get why it would be discontinued.

CharlieSummers
03-13-2012, 07:02 PM
I was very disappointed to read Applian has discontinued Replay A/V.

I admit I am surprised, but not particularly disappointed. Replay A/V was pretty much a one-trick pony; it recorded XM and Sirius streams when nothing else could. It was a lousy podcast client, freeware products can handle writing Shoutcast streams to hard drive much more handily (and using Scheduled Tasks, on a scheduled basis - heck, I have cronjobs set up on a linux box recording a buttload of MP3 streams around the Net), other products are (IMHO) better at recording speaker-output under Windows, so there really isn't much of a place for Replay A/V now that it can't deal (legally, anyway) with SatRad streams.

Still, it would have been nice to have Applian post a sticky about it, instead of having the reference buried deep in another thread. But this will at least give me the push I needed to switch my daily The Bob Edwards Show recordings to another solution dealing with the current streams instead of the kludge of recording the legacy streams, finally dumping Replay A/V completely. Funny that I bought the entire Recording Suite, and have only used one other of the programs twice, and never even bothered to install the other ones.

ravuser
03-15-2012, 03:33 PM
Any sugestions about a program to use instead of RAV, which has a scheduling function built in?

Cheryl Wester
03-15-2012, 07:27 PM