PDA

View Full Version : Problems downloading 4OD and using in conjunction with Media Catcher

patatasbravas
03-06-2012, 03:48 AM
Hi all, First of all I am new to all of this and while I have searched this and the Media Catcher forums, some of it is a bit over my head so forgive me if the answers already lie elsewhere!
We bought Media Catcher a couple of weeks ago, primarily to watch BBC iPlayer progs. Then when trying to download Channel 4 and discovering it is protected, we decided to buy Video Capture. We are having problems however downloading Channel 4 4OD programmes. What happens is that the adverts download individually onto Media Capture, but when the main programme starts nothing appears on the Media Catcher at all, even though the Video Capture is still recording. We are also having problems downloading programmes from the You Tube 4OD channel (which doesn't have the ads)- every time within seconds Media Catcher says the download is complete with errors. Meanwhile Video Catcher records whatever is on the home screen, so if we are looking at other pages this is what will play in WMP. The download option to Media Catcher is great for us as our internet connection is quite unreliable so inevitably a straight screen record is going to have lots of rebuffering going on. I don't understand why the 4OD adverts appear in the Media Capture but not the programmes itself, and why YouTube simply won't download? I would also like to know if it is possible to change any settings so that the adverts on 4OD can be skipped and go straight to the main feature. Any clues or advice please? Thanks very much in advance.

juanlfm
03-07-2012, 04:26 AM
It is best not to use Catcher and Capture at the same time.

"We bought Media Catcher a couple of weeks ago, primarily to watch BBC iPlayer progs. "
The Catcher is ideal for BBC iplayer.

"Then when trying to download Channel 4 and discovering it is protected, we decided to buy Video Capture."