PDA

View Full Version : benefit of Replay Radio 9 over Replay AV 8? And "subscription" based now?

mlloyd1
12-29-2013, 07:28 AM
I've been using Replay AV 8 (or it's predecessors) for MANY years.
Today when I started it, I got a notice about an update called Replay Radio 9.
Not sure that it has all the same functionality, but there is a Replay Capture Suite I guess that is closer in function to Replay AV 8.
Replay Radio 9 looks to be a part of that.
OK so far, but checking further shows that only the Replay Radio 9 piece looks to be "subscription based" now?
So, uhm ..., what's going on?

mlloyd1

Cheryl Wester
12-29-2013, 09:40 PM
This program is the replacement program for AV as it became obsolete with all the changes in technology and in streams. We are using the subscription base to insure that you always have the latest and greatest version of the program. This allows us to update it more frequently for you as streams change. Give it a try and see how you like it.

mlloyd1
01-01-2014, 09:06 PM
ok. so "subscription-based" in this case does not mean that 1 year after purchase, the software will stop working or uninstall itself or other such craziness, correct?

thanks,
mlloyd1

B777pks
01-02-2014, 03:56 PM
I'd used AV8 to record radio programs for many years.
It did not become obsolete as Applian says. No software need become obsolete.
Applian simply stopped supporting it with updates to the software so they could sell a subscription version "Replay Radio 9" to soak previous customers of their product.
I'm going with another product which is a little more difficult to use but has continuously been supported for many years, Total Recorder.
Sorry to see Applian take the low road.

Cheryl Wester
01-02-2014, 04:30 PM